Skip to content

Curmudgeons are not racist

January 25, 2016

There is a huge controversy that Hollywood is racist.  As can be anticipated, the egocentric hub of self adoration cannot abide any criticism.  When your world is based upon self adoration, then any flaw suggested is impossible.

I am a curmudgeon.  Those I associate with are members of the “Grumble & Bitch Club”. I do not classify my likes and dislikes based upon anthropology or philosophies.  I am not sure that I really like myself.

Please do not ever play the Barbara Streisand hit song; PEOPLE.  Why do I have to like people?  I do not expect people to automatically like me.  Why am I compelled to like anybody that shows up at my house?  I grew up in Chicago.  “What do you want?”  “Get out of here!”  The nuns sent us kids out to invade neighborhoods peddling gambling cards known as “punch cards”.  Grey haired old ladies and men slammed doors in my face with tears streaming down my chubby cheeks.  No compassion and no money was offered for my begging and pleading.  I learned that people do not need people peddling anything.

My mother and father always told me to “never open the door!”  If I was home alone when they were out, then I was to guard the house from invaders and peddlers.  We were not racist if we did not like anybody.  I am not a misanthrope.  I do not feel obliged to like a stranger.  I do not hate strangers.  I do not hug strangers.

Hollywood is a world built on appearances.  It can be dangerous to live in a world of mirrors.  Anyway, it is funny to see the self-righteous outrage about any possible flaw.  Narcissus stares at the mirror and cannot see any imperfection.  Nobody believes they are not perfect in Hollywood.  I know I am not perfect and I do not care.

If you believe we are all brother and sisters, then you can believe.  I am not obliged to live my life in fairy tales and make believe.  Curmudgeons are not lovable and do not want to be hugged.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2016 10:52 am

    Maybe I’m crazy but it would seem people who DON’T need people are the luckiest people in the world.

    • hoboduke permalink*
      January 25, 2016 1:17 pm

      I enjoy seeing my family living self reliant! Best relationships are not built on need. My wife is independent and I love her.

Leave a Reply

