Skip to content

Veteran’s Day honors the defenders of freedom

November 11, 2012

Thank you to my father for his battle against Hitler in World War II, and for his choosing to start a new life in the USA.  Thank you to my brother who fought in Viet Nam and survived the Tet offensive surprise attack.  Thank you to my son who has served in Iraq and is scheduled to another tour of combat duty in 2013 with his National Guard unit.

Our future as a free nation is purchased by the sacrifice and dangers by our newest generation in all branches of service for our defense.  Thank you.

Back from Iraq with 32nd

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2012 1:22 pm

    Pres lays wreath at Tomb of Unknown today (missed Memorial Day)can’t seem to face the living Veterans who we honor today. I think thank you too for your service, I am assuming you served.

    • hoboduke permalink*
      November 11, 2012 5:29 pm

      I did not serve in the military. I was in the Nixon military draft lottery with birthday number drawn randomly. My birthday had me ranked 325 in the draft drawings. I did not like the Viet Nam war, so I had no desire to enter voluntarily.

Leave a Reply

